Paddington Pre Schools

East Grinstead, West Sussex

The Early Years Foundation Stage was introduced into Early Years settings in September 2008 and was revised in September 2012. It's aim is to set the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five years old.

The four themes of the EYFS are:

A Unique Child:

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships:
Children learning to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments:
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development:
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

The EYFS is made up of 3 prime areas of learning and development and 4 specific areas of learning and development. All are connected to one another, are equally important and are underpinned by the principles of the EYFS.
Each area of learning and development is divided into aspects. The aspects for each area are:

Prime Areas:

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing Feelings and behaviour

2. Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

3. Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Specific Areas:

1. Literacy

  • Reading
  • Writing

2. Mathematics

  • Numbers
  • Shapes, space and measure

3. Understanding the world

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

4. Expressive art and design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

© Paddington Preschools 2016. All Rights Reserved.